Rozalie Hirs


Hilbert’s Hotel (2015) – world premiere

Keyboard of the 31-tone Fokker organ for Rozalie Hirs's Hilberts Hotel (2015), premiere 26 April 2015 in Muziekgebouw aan't IJ, Amsterdam, The Netherlands

On 26 April 2015 at 11:00 CET the new composition Hilbert’s Hotel for microtonal organ and electronic sounds by Rozalie Hirs receives its world premiere during the program Hilbert’s Hotel at Muziekgebouw aan’t IJ, Amsterdam, The Netherlands. The organ is the 31-tone Fokker organ of the Huygens-Fokker Foundation, Center for Microtonal Music, Amsterdam. The photograph shows the keyboard of the instrument.

Other works on the program are Reflexions Sonores by Henri Carf and several baroque works for flute and organ. The performers of these works are Ere Lievonen (organ) en Raymond Honing (flute).

Special thanks to Casper Schipper for assistance with the sound synthesis in SuperCollider.

→ Nederlands

Date: 2015-04-26
Time: 11:00 CET
Location: Muziekgebouw aan't IJ, Piet Heinkade 5, Amsterdam, The Netherlands


Nieuw Amsterdams Peil: Rozalie Hirs

Ensemble NAP (photograph: Pietro Cinotti, 2010)

On 21 April 2015 in De Link, Tilburg, The Netherlands, Nieuw Amsterdams Peil and Rozalie Hirs are performing a program with works by Hirs, some of her musical heroes, and one of her former students. The musicians are Heleen Hulst (violin), Gerard Bouwhuis (piano), Lars Wouters van den Oudenweijer (clarinet), Mick Stirling (cello), Arne Bock (sound projection), and Rozalie Hirs (spoken voice).

→ Nederlands


Date: 2015-04-21
Time: 20:15
Location: De Link, Tilburg, The Netherlands
Performers: Nieuw Amsterdams Peil, Rozalie Hirs (spoken voice)


Portrait concert, Mills College, United States


On 18 April 2015 at 20:00 PST Mills Performing Group (MPG), founded in 1963 by Darius Milhaud, Luciano Berio, and Morton Subotnick, will perform works by Hirs during Mills Music Now at Mills College, Oakland, California. Furthermore on the progam will be a new work co-composed and performed by James Fei (live electronics) and Rozalie Hirs (spoken voice, electronic sounds).


Date: 2015-04-18
Time: 20:00 PST
Location: Jeannik Méquet Littlefield Concert Hall, Mills College, 5000 MacArthur Blvd, Oakland CA 94613, United States
Performers: Mills Performing Group (MPG)
Portrait concert with works by Rozalie Hirs (music, text). World premiere of a new work co-composed by James Fei (live electronics) and Rozalie Hirs (spoken voice, electronic sounds)

Rehearsing with James Fei


Rehearsing with James Fei today for tomorrow’s concert at Mills College, California.

The photograph shows the live electronics setup James will be playing during the brand-new co-composition who put on my shoes (2015) by Fei (music) and Hirs (text, music). The new composition is based on the poetry cycle who put on my shoes by Hirs, translated from the Dutch by Donald Gardner. Its Dutch sibling die deed mijn schoenen aan was originally published as part of her poetry book gestamelde werken (Amsterdam: Querido, 2012).


Lecture, UC Santa Barbara, United States

Clarence Barlow, chaire Composition Department, UCSB

On 13 April 2015 Rozalie Hirs is giving a lecture at the Composition Department at University of California, Santa Barbara, on her recent compositions Nadir (2014), Lichtende Drift (2014), Roseherte (2008, 2014 rev.), and Infinity Stairs (2014). Topics may include frequency-based compositional techniques, the use of OpenMusic as a compositional tool, and sound synthesis in SuperCollider and CSound.

(photograph: Clarence Barlow, chair of the Composition Department, UCSB)

Date: 2015-04-13
Location: Composition/ Department of Music, UC Santa Barbara, Santa Barbara, California, United States

Grant from Performing Arts Fund


Earlier this week the Dutch Performing Arts Fund announced that Rozalie Hirs is the recipient of a grant for her new composition for Klangforum Wien and Vokalensemble NOVA. The composition will be premiered during Urbo Kune on 6 June 2015 at 14:25 CET in the Main Hall of Muziekgebouw aan’t IJ, Amsterdam, The Netherlands.

The new work (music, text), a commission by Holland Festival, is scored for eighteen players (2fl, cl, bass cl, cfg, cor, tp, tb, 2perc, pf, acc, midi keyboard, 2vlns, vla, vc, cb), eight singers (2SATB), and electronic sounds.

Poet at Reverse in Copenhagen this September


Delighted to have been invited by Reverse, formerly known as the Copenhagen International Poetry Festival, to be their guest at this year’s edition. The festival takes place at Literaturhaus in Copenhagen, Denmark, from 23 until 27 September 2015. It will be a joy to perform there and meet the other poets from all over the world. For current events see the Reverse Facebook Page.